header logo


for string orchestra, by Anthony Ritchie, Opus 71b

An approachable and evocative work, based on the landscape around Queenstown in NZ. Originally written for string quartet, this string orchestra arrangement was made for The Auckland Chamber Orchestra.

Watch the Aroha String Quartet play Whakatipua

video link

Programme Note

Whakatipua for string quartet was commissioned by the artist Morgan Jones as a surprise present for his wife, Pat Jones, who was turning 60. The piece was first played at their wonderful home near Queenstown, on the occasion of Pat's birthday. It was written for a quartet then resident at the University of Otago Music Department. This string orchestra version was arranged for The Auckland Chamber Orchestra.

The piece is in a single movement. Slower sections at the beginning and end surround a main quick section. The piece evokes the mountain landscape around Queenstown, and also Morgan and Pat's place, which is called 'Whakatipua'. There are elements of folk music in the piece which is characterised by open-sounding sonorities, and it pays a quiet tribute to the music of Lilburn as well. It was written to be not overly taxing to perform, technically.

Buy the right to download a pdf containing the score and all parts for use by a single string orchestra at a cost of NZ$25.00:

Orders are saved in a secure Paypal shopping cart which is viewed on a separate browser tab. When you have finished shopping, simply Check Out for a Secure Guest check out using your credit card, or to use an existing Paypal account choose Paypal Check Out.
Orders are processed every 5 minutes. An email with a link to each file should arrive within 6 minutes of checking out. If it does not arrive we will likely notice during a New Zealand working day but please send an email to bellbirdpublications at gmail dot com if you have any problems with ordering.