Euphonium Concerto

for euphonium and brass band or concert band, by Anthony Ritchie, Opus180

This concerto was commissioned by euphonium soloist, Byron Newton to perform with the Wellington Brass Band and the Royal Airforce Band in 2015, with financial assistance from Creative New Zealand.

Buy score and parts for Euphonium and Brass Band from Prima Vista Musikk

Buy score and solo part for Euphonium and Piano from Prima Vista Musikk

The concerto is in four movements, but can be performed as a three-movement work by omitting the first movement:
I - Noir: molto sostenuto
II - Scherzo: allegro
III - In memoriam: grave
IV - Dance: allegro

Scoring for brass band:
1x Eb Soprano cornet
4x Bb Solo cornets
1x Bb Repiano cornet
2x 2nd Bb Cornet
2x 3rd Bb Cornet
1x Bb Flugal horn
Solo Eb Horn
1st Eb Horn
2nd Eb Horn
1st Bb Baritone
2nd Bb Baritone
1st Trombone
2nd Trombone
Bass Trombone
2nd Euphonium
2x Eb Bass
2x BBb Bass
3-4 Percussionists

Scoring for Concert band:
Flutes 7 (3 firsts, 3 seconds and Picc)
Clarinets 10 (4 first, 3 second, 2 third plus e flat)
Saxophone 4 ( 2 alto, tenor, baritone ( can have soprano if desired)
Euphonium ( 1, solo)
Horns 2
8 Trumpets (3-5 parts, trumpets and cornets, a few jazz specialists)
Trombones 5 ( including one bass)
Tubas 3
Percussion 4